Favourites at the Mo’

I thought I would let you all in on some of my favourites at the moment.  Not a ‘Favourites of the Month’ kind of thing because frankly I don’t think I could keep up with that at the moment and Makeup Tutorials are much more fun!  So, I have put together some of my hair bits, eyes & lips, contour & highlight, prep & prime,books and even music favourites for our perusal.  I hope you enjoy the read 🙂

IMG_6832

Hair Bits:

got2b Oil-licious Aragan Oil – love this stuff!  It is a dry oil, I know that probably sounds like an oxymoron, but it seems to go on and disappear.  My hair is shiny an soft and not oily or greasy looking.  Due to the amount of dying and bleaching that my poor hair has undergone here of late this oil is a god send!

The brush is a little find that I got from Boots.  It is great for back combing to get mega volume with minimal effort.  Works great for my pinup looks and  also helps smooth away the flyaways.  Go find one for yourself-you’ll thank me for it.

 

IMG_6833

Eyes & Lips:

I have talked about all of these in past tutorials so I thought I would touch on them on their own.

The MAC Prep and Prime lip primer is amazeballs.  I got it last month and it has not been off of my lips since.  It’s like a lip balm almost but helps your lip liner glide on and acts as a perfect base for your lippy.  Love it-go buy it.

Urban Decay Waterline Waterproof Eyeliner-what a revelation!  I have been using black eyeliner and then going over it with a black eyeshadow to set it for a while now but have gotten fed up with it ending up in my eyeballs.  I wear contacts so my previous method just made my eyes uncomfortable.  Enter the Waterline Waterproof eyeliner and hey Presto!  No more black stuff in my eyes and making my contacts go all foggy (weird I know but that’s what used to happen!).  It has staying power and lasts all day.

Origins Eco Tools double ended eyeshadow brushes-I haven’t stopped using these since I got them back in January.  The fluffy brush is especially useful and helps blend eyeshadows like nobody’s business.  I got these at Boots and I think they cost around £8ish?  These would be perfect for throwing in your makeup bag for a weekend away-all the brushes you may need are there.  Go get them, run, now!

IMG_6834

Highlight & Contour:

Too Faced Cocoa Contour-I have only been using this for a couple of weeks but have been loving the crap out of it.  First of all it smells yummy, I just want to lick it.  The colours are not super dark so you can layer to add more depth or not for a more subtle look.  The little brush that comes with the kit is super soft and angled to get that perfect chiselled contour.  For the beginner contourer (is that a word?) it is a great tool to have in your arsenal.

MAC Mineralize Skinfinish in Lightscapade-I use this as a highlighter and also adore it.  Nice and subtle-gives you a ‘I am standing out in the sun and look at my glow’ kind of face which is handy when you live in dreary Scotland and you never see the sun, ever…

Lush Feeling Younger Skin Tint-I use this under my eyes to help hide my dark circles.  it has a bit of a pearlescent peachy tint that does wonders to hide the purple that lurks under my eyes.  I have always had dark circles and I find this helps hide them a bit.  Once I put on my foundation and concealer the circles are almost all gone.  You can also use it as a highlighter but a dab will do-it is quite potent.

IMG_6836

Prep & Prime:

Just a couple of bits here…

Rimmel Fix & Perfect-I have purchased a few primers but have always felt that they were greasy or something.  Anyway, I didn’t like them.  This stuff however is more like a moisturizer and feels awesome (smells nice too).  If you have used other primers and not liked them-give this one a try.

Nivea Night Cream-I have decided that as 40 is creeping up on me that I should maybe start a little wrinkle prevention.  I already use the Q10 eye cream from Nivea so I thought I would give this a try.  A couple of nights use and I am in love.  I wake up with such soft skin!  Colour me surprised!  My skin tends to be rather dry so this cream has really helped that problem in only a matter of days.  Roll on wrinkle free and moisturized skin.

IMG_6831

Books:

Just a quick one on these-I got the Benefit ‘easy on the eyes’ this week and it is really good.  There are tips on how to create a smoky eye in 5/10/30 minutes depending on how much time you have.  There are also other looks in the book along with creating the perfect flick eyeliner (which Lord knows I need help with!).  It came from Amazon for £4.99 so well worth picking up if you want some basic tips.  The Dita Von Teese book I shant bore you with as I have already metioned it in previous posts.

carrie underwood

Music:

Lastly music…now being a Texas girl I do love me some country music.  It is a bit Marmite-you either love it or you hate it.  I haven’t really listened much to Carrie Underwood and bought this because it was reduced to £4.99 instead of £7.99 and I have not regretted it.  If you like a song about a woman getting revenge on her cheating man/offing an abuse partner/dancing in the moonlight with her lover/or not being able to give up an old love then this is the album for you!  It is not super country sounding and Carrie Underwood has one hell of a voice.  If you do check it out the songs Relapse & Church Bells are a favourite of mine.  I have played it so much that the hubster bought it on vinyl for me…because he loves me 🙂

Whew!  Longest post ever I think.  I hope that you haven’t gotten too bored with my ramblings and fallen asleep…zzzzzz  If you would like more posts like this let me know in the comments.  Oh and don’t forget to subscribe or you may miss out on another one of my ramblings….

Have a lovely weekend girls and I shall see you all on the flip side…or something like that.

Jxxx

P.S. I am not paid by any of the companies that I blog about-I buy everything myself.  I just really like the stuff and feel the need to share….

https://www.instagram.com/lipstickandtattoosblog/

 

 

Leave a Reply

